3 C
New York kenti
Perşembe, Aralık 7, 2023

BRICS Summit Yields Johannesburg Declaration On Sustainable Development

Mutlaka Oku

By Janet Ekstract

ISTANBUL- The BRICS Summit held in Johannesburg, South Africa the last three days, is the first time that leaders from Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa have met post-Covid for their annual event to discuss cooperation in the fields of economic development, technology, climate and a host of other issues. The summit which wrapped up on Thursday, resulted in leaders producing the Johannesburg Declaration On Sustainable Development set to focus on cooperation among the BRICS nations on environmental protection. South African President Cyril Ramaphosa commented on Thursday that African countries are seeking guidance from BRICS countries to assist them with infrastructure and development. 

The 15th BRICS Summit that convened from August 22-24, focused on the theme “BRICS and Africa: Partnership for mutually accelerated growth, sustainable development and inclusive multilateralism.” The priority at the summit included discussing cooperation between BRICS and African nations, seeking ways to contribute to the continent’s most pressing economic, trade, technology and security issues as well as a host of other challenges. BRICS will work in closer collaboration in the fields of development while finance ministers from BRICS will work with development banks on trade issues. Meanwhile, South Africa made it clear at the summit that the U.S. dollar as payment will not disappear though a resolution was approved for a future study to create a new type of currency for payments. 

As Ramaphosa commented: “This summit reaffirmed the importance of BRICS people-to-people exchanges & enhancing friendship & cooperation. We adopted the Johannesburg two declarations which reflect key BRICS messages on matters of global economic, financial & political importance. It demonstrates the shared clause & common interests that underlie our mutually beneficial cooperation at the five BRICS countries.” At summit closing, BRICS leaders

made the decision to invite six nations into the group: Argentina, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Ethiopia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE). South Africa wants to buy and trade oil from Saudi Arabia but not use dollars which is why there’s a new study about alternative types of payment. Leaders of the six-nation group lauded the decision and expressed their positive responses. India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi said that a BRICS Space Exploration Consortium should be created. He added : “Under this, we can work for global good in areas like space research and weather monitoring.” More than 40 countries have expressed an interest to join BRICS while 22 have requested becoming members. BRICS leaders agreed they want to expand their group of five. As U.N. Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said: “The world cannot afford a divided global economy and financial system, with diverging strategies on technology and conflicting security frameworks.”


- Advertisement -

Daha Fazla


Lütfen yorumunuzu giriniz!
Lütfen isminizi buraya giriniz

- Advertisement -

Son Eklenenler